Constituency Profiles: 26 March National Assembly By-Elections

ZESN has published a consolidated profile of the 28 National Assembly constituencies in which by-elections will be conducted on March 26 2022. In the last elections, 20 of the parliamentary seats in the profile were won by the MDC Alliance, 7 by ZANU-PF, and one by the NPF. The seats became vacant due to recalls and deaths.

Introduction and Background

Zimbabwe holds elections every five years to elect councillors, Members of Parliament (MPs) and the President. In-between the election cycle, by-elections may be conducted to fill in vacancies arising within the National Assembly and local authorities. Upon a seat falling vacant, by-elections are supposed to be conducted within 90 days to fill in the vacancy. By-elections were last conducted in 2019 as they were indefinitely suspended, from early 2020, on account of COVID-19.

This publication is a consolidated profile of the 28 National Assembly constituencies in which by-elections will be held. In line with the mission of promoting democratic elections in Zimbabwe, ZESN effectively gathers, disseminates and communicates objective information about elections and other democratic processes. This profile of 28 constituencies, communicates objectively to stakeholders ahead of the 26 March by-elections.

Following the promulgation of Statutory Instrument (SI) 2 of 2022, President Mnangagwa proclaimed 26 March for the holding of by-elections to fill in vacancies. There are 28 vacancies in National Assembly seats and 122 vacancies in local authority seats emanating mainly from recalls and deaths.

Access the full document here (1MB PDF)

Source: ZESN

Share this update

Liked what you read?

We have a lot more where that came from!
Join 36,000 subscribers who stay ahead of the pack.

Related Updates

Related Posts:




Author Dropdown List




All the Old News

If you’re into looking backwards, visit our archive of over 25,000 different documents from 2000-2013.