Zimbabwe Anti-Corruption Commission Shortlisted Candidates to be Publicly Interviewed on Friday 21st June at Parliament – Commissions Watch

On 31st January this year the then chairperson and all the eight members of the Zimbabwe Anti-Corruption Commission resigned.

The Constitution gives Parliament’s Committee on Standing Rules and Orders [CSRO] the responsibility of advising the President on the appointment of the chairperson and other members of the Zimbabwe Anti-Corruption Commission [ZACC] [Constitution, sections 254, and 237].

The new chairperson has already been appointed by the President after consultation with CSRO, as required by section 254 of the Constitution. She is Mrs Justice Loice Matanda-Moyo.

The procedure for the appointment of the eight Commission members is different. They must be appointed from a list of at least twelve nominees submitted to the President by the CSRO. The nomination procedure is the same as that laid down by section 237 of the Constitution for the CSRO’s nomination of persons for appointment to the five Chapter 12 Independent Commissions.

The CSRO has already completed the early steps in that process by publishing a public notice advertising the eight positions needing to be filled and inviting the President and members of the public to make nominations of qualified individuals [see Commissions Watch of 15th February]. Nomination documents were received for 133 candidates and the CSRO then published their names and invited the public not only to submit objections to the appointment of any of the candidates, but also to submit suggestions for questions to be put to candidates when they were interviewed [see Commissions Watch of 21st March].

Now the CSRO has published notices announcing that the next step in the process will take place on Friday 21st June at Parliament, when two interviewing teams will conduct public interviews of prospective candidates as required by section 237(1)(c) of the Constitution. The interviews will be conducted in the National Assembly chamber and the Senate chamber and will start at 9 am.

The short list of 38 candidates who will be interviewed has been compiled after what the notices describe as an “exhaustive analysis of the nominated candidates to decipher their suitability for consideration to serve on this Commission”. Their names and the times and venues of their interviews are set out in the following from the CSRO notice:

Zimbabwe Anti-Corruption Commission Interviews

Team A
Date of Interview: Friday 21 June 2019
Starting time: 9am
Venue: National Assembly Chamber, Parliament

No.Full NameGenderInterview Slot
1.Mr Noah MaringeMale9 am
2.Mr. Christopher Dube-BandaMale9:20 am
3.Ms. Nomsa Hazel NcubeFemale9:40 am
4.Mr. Tinomudaishe ChinyokaMale10 am
5.Ms. Fungayi Jessie MajomeFemale10:20 am
Tea Break10:40 – 11 am
6.Mrs. Caroline-Ann Chigumira
(nee Mutee)
Female11 am
7.Advocate Michael MajuruMale11:20 am
8.Advocate Wilbert Pfungwadzashe
Male11:40 am
9.Mrs. Sithembiso Angela Tofa
(nee Mahlamvana)
Female12 noon
10. Mr. Tongai MatutuMale12:20 pm
11.Mr. Matthew Tichaona KunakaMale12:40 pm
Lunch Break1 – 2 pm
12.Mr. David Chenai ChafanzaMale2 pm
13.Mr. Arnold MushunjeMale2:20 pm
14.Mr. Caleb MutsumbaMale2:40 pm
15.Mr. Zondi KumwendaMale3pm
16.Mr. James Andrew MushoreMale3:20 pm
17.Mr. Basil MasaraMale3:40 pm
18.Mr. Tawanda MatopeMale4 pm
19.Mr. Thembelani Kole NcubeMale4:20 pm

Team B
Date of Interview: Friday 21 June 2019
Starting Time: 9 am
Venue: Senate Chamber, Parliament

No.Full NameGenderInterview Slot
1.Ms. Thandiwe MlobaneFemale9 am
2.Mr. Paul M. MugoniMale9:20 am
3.Mr. Kennedy MtombeniMale9:40 am
4.Mr. Jeffrey Takawira MahachiMale10 am
5.Mr. Brian KashanguraMale10:20 am
Tea Break10:40 – 11 am
6.Mr. Frank MuchengwaMale11 am
7.Reverend Gibson BotomaniMale11:20 am
8.Retired Major Michael DennissantuMale11:40 am
9.Mr. John MakamureMale12 noon
10.Mrs. Tsitsi DhliwayoMale12:20 pm
11.Mr. Mark Chivehya SibandaMale12:40 pm
Lunch Break1 pm – 2 pm
12. Dr. Mabel Ndakaripa Hungwe Female2 pm
13.Mr. Dumisani Hendry ZisengweMale2:20 pm
14.Mr. Gabriel ChaibvaMale2:40 pm
15.Mr. Kuziva Phineas MurapaMale3 pm
16.Mr. Blessing ChebundoMale3:20 pm
17.Mr. Charles T. M. J. DubeMale3:40 pm
18.Bishop Henry ZiwerereMale4 pm
19.Mr. Prosper MunyedzaMale4:20 pm

After the interviews the CSRO must prepare a list of at least twelve of the candidates as its nominees for appointment and then submit the list to the President. The President must then appoint eight persons from that list as members of the Commission.

Source: Veritas

Share this update

Liked what you read?

We have a lot more where that came from!
Join 36,000 subscribers who stay ahead of the pack.

Related Updates

Related Posts:




Author Dropdown List




All the Old News

If you’re into looking backwards, visit our archive of over 25,000 different documents from 2000-2013.